What is Ephemeral Messaging?
To further improve the privacy of Path users, on June 11th all messages sent through Path became "24 hour ephemeral". This means that all messages are automatically removed from our servers 24 hours after being sent, including any old messages.
This does not mean all messages will disappear from your device after 24 hours. A limited number of messages downloaded from our servers will be kept on your device until you log out, uninstall, or update to a new version of Path. If there are any specific messages you would like to keep permanently, you'll want to save them to your device or screenshot them.
Does this also impact Path Moments in my timeline?
Nope! This change only affects Path Messaging - accessed by tapping the speech bubble at the top of your home timeline screen. Your Path Moments and those shared with you by friends and family will stay put and work just as they do today.
How can I save photo and video messages?
On iOS devices, you can save both photos and video messages to your Camera Roll. To do this, tap and hold on the photo or video and tap “Save Photo” or “Save Video”. It is not possible to save voice messages on iOS devices.
On Android devices, you can save photos to your Gallery. To do this, tap on the photo, tap on the menu button in top right, then tap “Save Photo”. It is not possible to save videos or voice messages on Android devices.
How can I save text messages?
Individual text messages can be copied to your clipboard and pasted into another app. Series of old messages (e.g. text, maps, stickers, etc) can be kept by taking a screenshot.
Will messages disappear from my device 24 hours after they are sent?
A limited number of messages will remain on the device you sent or received them on until you log out, uninstall, or update to a new version of Path. After doing any of these things, you will only see messages on your device if they were sent to you less than 24 hours ago.
Will messages disappear from my friends' devices 24 hours after I send them?
A limited number of messages will remain on your friends' device they sent or received them on until they log out, uninstall, or update to a new version of Path. After doing any of these things, they will only see messages on their device if they were sent to them less than 24 hours ago.